Vice President for Research, Graduate Studies, and Economic Development



Administration 601 P.O. Box 210066 Tucson AZ 85721-0077 (520) 621-3513 FAX: (520) 621-7507

## MEMORANDUM

TO: J. Lyle Bootman, Dean, College of Pharmacy

Michael A. Cusanovich, Director, ARL

Stuart Flynn, Dean, College of Medicine - Phoenix Jeff Goldberg, Dean, College of Engineering Steven Goldschmid, Dean, College of Medicine Iman Hakim, Dean, College of Public Health

Jory Hancock, Dean, Fine Arts

John P. Johns, Dean, Social and Behavioral Sciences

Colin Kaltenbach, Dean, College of Agriculture

Fernando Martinez, Director, BIO5

Ron Marx, Dean, College of Engineering

Paul Portney, Dean, Eller College of Management

Joan Shaver, Dean, College of Nursing

Joaquin Ruiz, Executive Dean, Colleges of Letters, Arts and Science

Mary Wildner-Bassett, Dean, college of Humanities James C. Wyant, Dean, Optical Sciences Center

FROM: Leslie P. Tolbert, Ph.D. Scille P. Johnson

Vice President for Research, Graduate Studies,

and Economic Development

**RE:** NSF Graduate STEM Fellows in K-12 Education (GK-12)

DATE: February 19, 2010

The Office of the Vice President for Research is accepting pre-proposals for the NSF Graduate STEM Fellows in K-12 Education (GK-12) program. The guidelines for the program can be found at <a href="http://www.nsf.gov/pubs/2009/nsf09549/nsf09549.htm">http://www.nsf.gov/pubs/2009/nsf09549/nsf09549.htm</a>. An institution may submit no more than one proposal. The letter of intent (required) is due on April 20, 2010 and the full proposal is due at NSF on June 3, 2010.

All pre-proposals should be ranked by the Dean of each college and submitted to this office by **Friday**, **March 19**, **2010**. The pre-proposal should consist of:

- (1) no more than a two-page summary of the proposed program
- (2) short curriculum vitae.

If more than one is received, a committee of peers will be convened to select the University's candidates.

LPT/arr