## THE UNIVERSITY OF ARIZONA<sub>®</sub> General Faculty General Election, Spring 2016 <u>NOMINATING INSTRUCTIONS</u>

The Committee on Elections is conducting the Spring 2016 General Faculty General Election in accordance with the Constitution and Bylaws of the General Faculty of The University of Arizona.

- 1. Nominating petitions will be available online (<u>http://facultygovernance.arizona.edu/faculty\_elections</u>) or at the Faculty Center through the close of business on Wednesday, March 23, 2016.
- Completed nominating petitions must be returned to the Faculty Center, 1216 E. Mabel St. (PO Box 210456), by <u>Wednesday, March 23, 2016.</u>
- 3. Nominees are requested to submit by email a bio-statement electronically to <u>facultycenter@email.arizona.edu</u> not to exceed 150 words, describing their reasons for seeking office. These statements will be used for publicity purposes and are available on the election website with the announcement of the online election.
- 4. Only members of the General (voting) Faculty may be nominated, or nominate themselves, for College Representative seats on the Faculty Senate and the Committee on Committees.
- 5. The person being nominated must <u>sign</u> the consent line in order for the nominating petition to be valid.
- 6. Only signatures of members of the General (Voting) Faculty are valid on nominating petitions.
- 7. No fewer than **twenty** signatures are required on petitions for Committee on Committees. The number of valid signatures required for nomination as Faculty Senate College Representative is not less than 10% of the members of their College Faculty, with a minimum of 3 and a maximum of 20, as listed below:

# SIGNATURES NEEDED	SENATE SEATS NEEDED
20	1
13	1
12	2
12	1
5	1
20	1
3	1
4	1
20	2
20	2
	20 13 12 12 5 20 3 4 20

- 8. All members of the General Faculty are eligible for nomination to the Faculty Senate and the Committee on Committees with the following exceptions:
  - A. Ineligible as Faculty Senate College Representatives because they are Faculty Senators-At-Large through May 31, 2017:

Abraham, Matthew Aleamoni, Lawrence M Armstrong, David Duran, Javier Hazen, Teresa Hildebrand, John G Martin, Edward C McLain, Jean Meixner, Thomas Pietz, David Russell, Joellen Spece, Roy G. Jr Colina, Sonia Conway, William E Jull, A. Tim Lee, Daniel O'Keeffe, Terence Paiewonsky, Moises *Witte, Marlys Witte, Russell* S

B. Ineligible as candidates for the Committee on Committees because they are currently members through 5/17 or 5/18:

Braithwaite, Alex Situ, Ping Schauer, Elizabeth Traut, Donald

9. All Faculty Senate College Representative terms shall begin 6/1/16 and will end on 5/31/18. The term for Committee on Committees shall begin on 6/1/16 and end 5/31/18.

## **COMMITTEE ON ELECTIONS, 2015-16**

Dr. Amy Fountain, **CHAIR**, Department of Linguistics Dr. Roger Dahlgran, Agricultural-Resource Economics Dr. Alex Braithwaite, Government & Public Policy